Dhaka: 4:22 AM, Thu, 19 Sep, 2019

BNP leader Zahidur Rahman takes oath

Mukul : risingbd.com
Publish on: 2019-04-25 1:30:57 PM     ||     Updated: 2019-04-25 6:12:14 PM

Parliament Correspondent: BNP MP-elect from Thakurgaon-3 constituency, Zahidur Rahman, took his oath as a member of parliament on Thursday noon.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhary administered his oath at her office at 12.00 pm in a ceremony moderated by Parliament Secretary Zafar Ahmed Khan.

Chief Whip Noor-e-Alam Chowdhury, Whip Iqbalur Rahim and Whip Abu Sayeed Al-Mahmud Swapon were present on the occasion.

After the ceremony, Jahid also signed the oath-taking book for MPs.

Earlier, Zahidur Rahman sent a letter to Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, speaker of Jatiya Sangsad, expressing his interest to take the oath as a member of parliament.

The parliament secretariat scheduled the oath ceremony on Thursday noon.

The BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront got eight seats in the December 30 national elections. Of them, BNP secured six seats.

In the meantime, the two Gonoforum MPs have already taken oath.



risingbd/Dhaka/April 25, 2019/Asad/Mukul