Dhaka: 1:17 AM, Wed, 21 Aug, 2019

JP may lose Ershad’s Rangpur seat

Nasim : risingbd.com
Publish on: 2019-07-20 3:04:03 PM     ||     Updated: 2019-07-20 10:14:04 PM

Staff Correspondent, Rangpur: The 16 aspirants are active in the vacant seat in Rangpur following the demise of Jatiya Party Chairman HM Ershad.

Already nine candidates from Awami League and seven others collected nomination froms to contest in the constituency. They don’t want to give any scope to Jatiya Party (JP) in the seat. As a result, a question has been raised that will JP be able to keep the seat in their hand?

In the 11th parliamentary election, JP got only two seats out of six. Beside, only single candidate had won in last upazila polls.

HM Ershad became a Member of Parliament for the first time in the constituency of Rangpur-3 in 1991. From then, he kept the seat in his hand. In 1996, Jatiya Party won 21 seats of 33 in Rangpur division. But, the party started losing its position gradually day by day. Only few candidates have succeeded in the polls of 78 unions in Rangpur. So, there is tension about the future position of the party in the seat.

Nine AL candidates are- Awami League central advisor member Chowdhury Khalekuzzaman, District Awami League acting president Mamtaz Uddin Ahmed, Distric AL publicity secretary also former Mahila Awami League secretary Rozi Rahman, District AL women affairs secretary Latifa Shawkat, Rangpur Sadar Upazila Chairman also Juba Mahila League district general secretary Nasima Jaman Bobi, Women reserved seat MP Hosne Ara Lutfa Dalia, Metropolitan AL joint secretary Anwarul Islam, Rangpur Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce president also Metropolitan AL leader Rezaul Islam Milon and District AL office secretary Touhidur Rahman Tutul.

Jatiya Party leaders said that Rangpur basically a fort of Ershad. No parties will be able to get scope there. They hope JP will keep moving forward.

risingbd/Rangpur/July 20, 2019/Nazrul Mridha/Nasim