Dhaka     Tuesday   04 August 2020

Major changes brought in squad

5 || risingbd.com

Published: 06:48, 16 September 2019   Update: 15:18, 26 July 2020

Sports Correspondent: That Bangladesh have suffered a major blow after losing the second match of the ongoing tri-nation series to Afghanistan appears very clear.

To overcome the situation, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has brought a major change in the squad today for the third and fourth matches of the ongoing tri-nation series, scheduled to be held in Chattogram.

Five players have been included to the newly announced 15-member squad while four others have been dropped.

Soumya Sarkar has been dropped following a poor performance with the bat.

The Tigers also excluded right-arm pacer Yasir Arafat Mishu while pacers Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam were this time included after sitting out the first two games. Rubel last played a T20I fixture in August last year during Bangladesh’s tour of West Indies while Shafiul last appeared in a T20I match during Bangladesh’s tour of South Africa in 2017.

Bangladesh have also included Nazmul Hossain Shanto to take the place of Soumya. The left-hander is yet to make his T20 debut having appeared for the Tigers during the Asia Cup last year. Nayeem Sheikh and Aminul Biplob made the cut while Mahedi Hasan, who did not get a game in the first two matches, was excluded.

The Tigers will now take on Zimbabwe on September 18 at Chattogram in their next match.

Bangladesh T20 squad: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Kumar Das, Afif Hossain, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Sheikh, Aminul Biplob, Nazmul Hossain Shanto


risingbd/Dhaka/September 16, 2019/Yeasin/AI